2017 Kenyan Election Polls Closes:14 Stations Yet To Start Voting

Less than five hours before the 2017 Kenyan election ends, about fourteen voting stations in Turkana are yet to begin their voting processes.

As at 4:20 pm voting were yet to begin in parts of Turkana and 1 in Wajir over bad weather and poor network reception. 3 centres opened late in Laikipia over insecurity.

According to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC), the areas yet to take part in the 2017 Kenyan election are in Turkana North, West and Central.

“As stated in our earlier update, a number of polling stations were not open due to adverse weather conditions and associated logistical challenges. Weather conditions affected four areas,” IEBC’s Body’s Chairman Wafula Chebukati said,

Read Also: May The Stronger Candidate Win – Raila In Final Press Conference

“Turkana North, four polling stations, Turkana Central four polling stations are affected, Turkana West two polling stations and loima, eight polling stations. Those are as a result of adverse weather conditions,” he added while noting that voters in areas having delays would get additional time to vote.

“We wish to assure you all that for the polling stations that opened late, and those that are about to open, we will compensate the time by extending the voting period by the same amount of hours that were lost before opening,” he stated.

He also pointed out that in some areas, the identification took longer than expected and some officers had challenges switching on the KIEMS equipment. But, he said, IEBC Commissioners had been dispatched to the affected centres.

The electoral body earlier replaced Returning Officers in Embakasi East, Kasarani and Westlands over delayed voting.

More reports coming in shows that voting has been delayed in a number of polling stations including Nairobi’s Greenspan, Donholm and Moi Avenue Primary School, as well as Rabuor Primary School and Nyando. It appears as if the electronic biometric voter registration kits have failed.

In Donholm, Nairobi, voters expressed their frustration following the delay of the voting. Voting in several polling stations in Nyali, Mombasa was delayed for over 30 minutes.

Stations opened early, but due to poor lighting, confusion in voter register, streams and stand-off between party agents, voters could not cast ballots on time.

Rhe stations that experienced this include Kongowea, Maweni, Tumaini and Ziwa la Ngombe primary schools.

While this is going on, several other polling stations are already rounding up the 2017 Kenyan election processes.

 Read Also: Election 2017: 5 Funny But Serious Scenes At Voting Centers

Two Kitui county employees have been arrested over voter buying and bribery. The two, Gitonga Nkuda and Ruth Mutonya who are County executive committee members attached to Finance department are in police custody, Kitavi Mutua reports.

This happened after Polling clerk, Kennedy Mulwa, of a polling station in Changamwe, Mombasa county arrested for issuing double ballot papers for MP and Senator to specific voters; expected in court.