CAF African Player

CAF has released its final three-man shortlist for the 2017 CAF African Player Of The Year Award.

Liverpool and Egyptian striker Mohamed Salah, his club teammate and Senegalese forward Sadio Mane, and Borussia Dortmund’s Gabonese forward Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang are to battle it out for the award.

The final shortlist was selected from an initial list of 30. It was unveiled on Monday at the Movenpick Hotel, Accra, Ghana by former Black Stars defender, Sammy Kuffour.

Salah is tipped to come out victorious after already winning the BBC version of the award.

The main Awards Gala will take place on Thursday, 4 January 2018 in Accra, Ghana.

Read Also: Michael Olunga Shortlisted For CAF Award

In the Coach of the Year category, Super Eagles’ German Technical Adviser Genort Rohr was nominated alongside Hector Cuper of Egypt and Wydad Casablanca coach, L’Hussein Amoutta.

Rohr is tipped to win the award after qualifying Nigeria, the first team in Africa to book a ticket to Russia, for the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

For the female category, Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala will face off against Gabrielle Aboud from Cameroon and South Africa’s Chrestina Kgatlana.

Oshoala, whois based in China, is the favorite to win the award as she looks to make it a hat-trick of wins.

Full List Of The CAF African Player Award Nominees

African Player of the Year

  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Dortmund)
  • Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year

  • Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)
  • Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)
  • Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & CSKA Moscow)

Youth Player of the Year

  • Krepin Diatta (Senegal & Sarpsborg)
  • Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)
  • Salam Giddou (Mali & Guidars)

Coach of the Year

  • Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)
  • Hector Cuper (Egypt)
  • L’Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)

Club of the Year

  • Al Ahly
  • TP Mazembe
  • Wydad Athletic Club

National Team of the Year

  • Cameroon
  • Egypt
  • Nigeria

Women’s National Team of the Year

  • Ghana U-20
  • Nigeria U-20
  • South AfricaTT