Coast Elections: Jubilee Unable To Penetrate NASA Stronghold

Jubilee Party again failed to make a significant impact in the Coast elections with the National Super Alliance winning most of the seats in the August 8 General Election.

This is despite the frequent forays by President Uhuru Kenyatta and his deputy William Ruto to the county.

The opposition cemented its popularity in the region which overwhelmingly voted for ODM in the 2013 polls by giving the Odinga-led coalition most of its votes.

It, however, failed to take back the Kwale gubernatorial seat from Jubilee’s incumbent Governor Salim Mvurya who defected from ODM to the ruling party after a fall out with the party. He beat Wiper candidate Chirau Mwakwere and ODM’s Issa Kipera to retain the seat.

Jubilee also took the Lamu gubernatorial seat through former MP Fahim Twaha. Mr. Twaha narrowly beat incumbent governor Issa Timamy who contested on an Amani National Congress ticket.

The rest of the seats in the region went to NASA with ODM’s coast political kingpins, Mombasa governor Hassan Joho and Kilifi’s Amason Kingi, leading the way with decisive victories.

See: Governor Joho Clashes With Uhuru During The Opening Of The Buxton Footbridge

The duo who are the Jubilee administration’s harshest critics as well as strong defenders of Raila Odinga, each gave their opponents a hard beating with provisional results indicating they were set to win with huge margins.

Wiper won the Taita Taveta governor’s seat through businessman Granton Samboja while in Tana River, ODM’s Godhana Dhado beat Jubilee’s incumbent governor Hussein Dado.

Coast Elections Parliamentary And Senatorial Seats

Just like in the coast elections in 2013, Jubilee lost all the top seats in Mombasa. A majority of the MPs and the senatorial seats have gone to ODM with the party also taking all the MP seats in Kilifi.

ODM took the Mombasa senatorial seat through lawyer Mohamed Faki, Mr. Jones Mwaruma (Taita Taveta) Mr. Stewart Madzayo (Kilifi ), Issa Juma Boy (Kwale).

Read Also: Declare Odinga Winner Now – NASA Orders IEBC

Jubilee won the Lamu senatorial seat through Mr. Anuar Loitiptip and is currently leading in Tana River through Mr. Golicha Wario.

It also bagged the Lunga Lunga parliamentary seat through incumbent MP Khatib Mwashetani. Mr. Mwashetani was elected in 2013 on a Ford-Kenya ticket before shifting allegiance to Jubilee.

ODM’s nominated MP Zuleikha Juma was declared Kwale woman representative after trouncing Jubilee’s Zainab Chidzuga. Ms. Chidzuga is another top ODM lieutenant who defected to Jubilee but lost in the Tuesday ballot.

Tana River woman rep Halima Ware who defected from Wiper to Jubilee lost to Ms. Rehema Hassan of MCCP.

Jubilee took the Lamu woman representative seat through Ms. Ruweid Mohamed who beat Wiper’s, Shakila Abdalla.