Defeated MP

Not all defeated politicians in the ongoing primaries are crying foul about their loss as one soon to be former Member of Parliament has proved with an unprecedented move.

Gichugu MP Njogu Barua has taken out a newspaper advert to thank his constituents for the opportunity he had to serve them as MP. The defeated MP lost the Jubilee Party nominations to lawyer Githinji Gichimu.

Read Also: Jubilee Party Primaries: Gov Mutua Urges Aspirants To Join Chap Chap As Uhuru Apologies For Failed Process

The Daily Nation advert placement read:

“I, Hon (Dr) Njogu Barua Ph.D., MP sincerely thank Gichugu constituents for the opportunity to represent you in the Kenya National Assembly. For this, I will forever be grateful.”

“I also urge you to consider the just concluded campaigns as a closed chapter, remain united, and work towards a progressive constituency, County and Nation.”

Barua is among the good number of incumbent legislators, senators, and governors from Kirinyaga and elsewhere to be ousted in the primaries. They include Mwea MP Peter Gitau, Kirinyaga Central MP Gachoki Gitari, Ndia MP Stephen Ngare and Woman Representative Winnie Njuguna.

Only Senator Daniel Karaba survived the political shake-up in Kirinyaga of which he described himself as a lucky man.

“I was lucky to be nominated. I want to thank the residents for giving me another chance to serve them again,” he said.

Governor Joseph Ndathi was also defeated during the nominations, losing to former Cabinet Secretary Anne Waiguru. Despite conceding defeat, Mr. Ndathi claimed the nominations were rigged in favor of Waiguru and was marked by massive irregularities.

Other defeated MP’s and governors across Kenya include Kiambu Governor William Kabogo who lost to Ferdinand Waitutu.

Othaya MP Mary Wambui lost to Gichuki Mugambi while Mukurweini MP Kabando wa Kabando lost to Anthony Kiai. Naivasha MP John Kihagi also lost and conceded defeat in the primaries to former MP Jane Kihara.