Election Result In Busia: Only 7 Out Of 35 MCA Retained Their Seats

Election result shows that only seven of out the 35 Members of the County Assembly (MCA) in Busia retained their seats after Tuesday’s general election.

The names of the representatives included Abiud Ochilangole (Amukura West), John Obwogo (Nangina), Julius Ochou (Marachi East) and Fredrick Musirimba (Bunyala North).

The others were Eric Kaibe (Kingandole), Gardy Jakaa (Bukhayo/Walatsi) and ODM’s George Busera (Busibwabo).

While majority leader Josephat Wandera lost to Patrobus Odhiambo in Elugulu, Deputy Speaker Moses Ote lost to Grace Olita in Angurai South Ward.

Read Also: Kenya Governorship Elections: Ruto, Kidero, Others Voted Out

Others who could not make it include the Minority leader and Angurai East MCA Moses Mamai who lost to businessman Job Oteb and Chief whip and Burumba representative Tony Onyango who lost to Moses Ochieng;

Malaba North MCA Chasi Imwene accepted defeat to Wiper’s Patrick Omanyala and Jakaa who had lost in the preliminaries on a Ford Kenya ticket surprised all when he defeated ODM’s Bob Yaite.

Jakaa has held the seat of the MCA since 2013 when he was the youngest representative in the county assembly.

Reacting to his failure in the just concluded elections, Malaba took to his Facebook page where he congratulated Omanyala saying:  “I want to take this gracious moment to congratulate MCA-elect Patrick Omanyala Inya. Our relations date back to our ancestral heritage in Chemasiri. There must be a number one, number two and number three in any race.”

Busia county boss is now Sospeter Ojaamong who is leading with 133,242 votes (49.36 per cent) against Funyula MP Paul Otuoma’s 122, 712 (45.46 per cent).

Amos Wako of the ODM will retain his Senatorial seat as he had garnered the most votes of about- 137,072 or 50.78 per cent by 5.20pm on Wednesday. Activist Okiyah Omtatah seconded him with 108,397 votes, equivalent to 40,16 per cent support.

Florence Mutua will also retain her office as woman representative as she had 143,167 votes (53.73 per cent) against ANC’s Susan Auma’s 64,902 votes (24.36 per cent).

Read Also: Check Out How Our Celebrities Who Contested For Elective Positions Fared

Meanwhile, Busia member of county assembly (MCA) have defended Governor Sospeter Ojaamong over corruption claims by the Senate Finance Committee, saying the allegations were politicised. Assembly chief whip Tony Onyango on Friday said, “The Senate is out to create bad-blood between Ojaamong and residents.”

Assembly chief whip Tony Onyango on Friday said also said that the Senate is out to create bad-blood between Ojaamong and residents.