Repeat Presidential Elections Budget

President Uhuru Kenyatta has appointed Advocate Wafula Chebukati as the new IEBC Chairperson. The list was released Thursday evening, Advocate Wafula Chebukati who made the last list of those nominated for chairman’s position alongside Tukero Ole Kina was finally the one nominated by President Uhuru.

See Also: Tukero Ole Kina, Wafula Chebukati Nominated New IEBC Head – Panel

Uhuru went further to nominate the members of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission. Six out of the nine people that were selected by the IEBC selection panel for commissioners were nominated by President Uhuru. These six will serve as commissioners to the IEBC.

Those who made the list were:

  1. Consolata Bucha
  2. Boya Molu
  3. Roselyn Akombe
  4. Paul Kurgat
  5. Margaret Mwachanya
  6. Abdi Guliye

In a statement on Thursday, Spokesman Manoah Esipisu said the nominees have been forwarded to Parliament for further processing as required by law.

The IEBC selection panel, chaired by Bernadette Musundi, had on Thursday last week presented the final shortlist, which included 11 candidates, to the President.

Also nominated for commissioner were Abdi Yakub Guliye, Henry Kizito Okola, Zephania Okeyo Aura and Samuel Kimeu but they did not make it.

The positions attracted more than 700 applications. Six lawyers and a judge were among 13 applicants to chair the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission to prepare for and oversee the 2017 election.

The recruitment of the new commissioners arose from the enactment of amendments to the IEBC Act, which led to the resignation of the previous ones.

This followed a negotiated process between Jubilee and Cord after the opposition held protests to demand the removal of the commissioners.

The two nominees for chairman and nine for members of the IEBC were selected under a cloud of high-stakes jostling between the two main political alliances.

Many have reacted to the nomination of the New IEBC chairperson done by President Uhuru as they expected Tukero Ole Kina to be the IEBC chairman.

See Also: Five Candidates Shortlisted For IEBC Chairperson

The new IEBC chairperson Mr. Chebukati and Mr. Chiloba hail from Trans Nzoia and it would be inconceivable to have both the chairman and the chief executive come from the same county, some people said.

Matters have not been helped by the fact that Mr. Kenyatta’s handlers see Mr. Chiloba as more of Deputy President William Ruto’s man, having worked with his legal adviser, Korir Sing’oei.

Mr. Chiloba’s exit could, however, precipitate a crisis in the IEBC secretariat, which is charged with the day-to-day preparations for the elections eight months away.

Some candidates, however, still went through with baggage, though it was agreed that the issues would be dealt with at another stage after they got overwhelming support from the panelists.

“We knew we could only do so much and we did our best, but at some point we said any misgiving can be addressed during vetting when another door for public participation will be opened. Anybody, then, can bring a petition,” said another source.