Kansiime Nominated For African Woman Awards For Her Hilarious Effort In The Comedy World

Anne Kansiime, a Ugandan entertainer, actress and a stand-up comedian was nominated in the first edition of the New African Woman Forum Awards (NAWF) mapped out to honour exceptional women who have made achieved visibly in their countries and communities.

In the award scheduled to take place in London, Kansiime fell in the “Rising Star” category competing against five other candidates from Nigeria, Kenya and Zimbabwe.

The awards are bestowed in 11 categories including Business; Politics and Public Office; Education; Science, Technology and Innovation; Finance and Banking; Media; Sport; Arts and Culture; Civil Society; Rising Star; and New African Woman of the Year.

Over 60 notable women who have impacted greatly in their different fields were shortlisted in the award. The winners, as voted by New African Woman magazine’s readers, will be announced under the theme: “Planet 50-50 by 2030: Step It Up for Gender Equality”.

The chairperson in the judging panel of the Awards ceremony, Leila Ben Hassen explained that the global theme for IWD to bring to attention the need for gender equality and closing of the gender gap.

Read Also: Things You Didn’t Know About The Hilarious Ugandan Comedian Ann Kansiime

Leila Ben Hassen added that the NAW Forum theme was created to celebrate women’s leadership and excellence on the continent.

Quoting her:

The New African Woman Forum brings together over 150 leaders from business, academia and civil society, as well as key decision makers from the public and private sector. It will also offer a unique platform to meet, network and share the success stories, experiences and challenges of the African Women who are changing the game on the continent. My co-judges and I look forward to discovering more about these incredible women of Africa and selecting this year’s winners.

Other members of the judging panel including General Manager, IC Publications; reGina Jane Jere, Editor New African Woman; Onike Nicol-Houra, Principal Business Development Officer at African Development Bank; Amadou Mahtar Ba, Co-Founder and Executive Chairman AllAfrica Global Media and Member of UN Secretary-General’s High Level Panel on Women’s Economic Empowerment; and Dr Nkosana Moyo, Executive Chairman for the Mandela Institute for Development Studies (MINDS).

Here Is The Complete List Of New African Women Awards Nominees:


Amy Jadesimi (Nigeria)
Anne Kansiime (Uganda)
Hannah Wanjie Ryder (Kenya)
NoViolet Bulawayo (Zimbabwe)
Vivian Onano (Kenya)
Zuriel Oduwole (Nigeria)


Ameenah Gurib-Fakim (Mauritius)
Amina J. Mohammed (Nigeria)
Bineta Diop (Senegal)
Fatima Haram Acyl (Chad)
Jeanine Mabunda Lioko Mudiayi (DR Congo)
Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma (South Africa)
Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka (South Africa)


Clare Akamanzi (Rwanda)
Marie Diongoye Konaté (Ivory Coast)
Olajumoke Adenowo (Nigeria)
Salwa Idrissi Akhannouch (Morocco)
Sibongile Sambo (South Africa)
Swaady Martin (Ivory Coast)


Arunma Oteh (Nigeria)
Hela Cheikhrouhou (Tunisia)
Najwa El Iraki (Morocco)
Omokehinde Ojomuyide (Nigeria)
Sipho S. Moyo (Zimbabwe)
Viola Llewellyn (Cameroon)
Viviane Bakayoko (DR Congo)


Bruktawit Tigabu (Ethiopia)
Elizabeth Akua-Nyarko Patterson (Ghana)
Maureen Maisha Auma (Kenya)
Naadiya Moosajee (South Africa)
Noella Coursaris Musunka (DR Congo)
Wanjiru Kamau-Rutenberg (Kenya)


Chinwe Ohajuruka (Nigeria)
Habiba Bouhamed Chaabouni (Tunisia)
Jamila Abass (Kenya) * Sara Menker (Ethiopia)
Thérèse Izay Kirongozi (DR Congo) * Winnifred Selby (Ghana)


Amma Asante (Ghana)
Bibi Bakare-Yusuf (Nigeria)
Bisi Silva (Nigeria)
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Nigeria)
Ellah Wakatama-Allfrey (Zimbabwe)
Nike Davies-Okundaye (Nigeria)
Uzo Aduba (Nigeria)


Aisha Muhammed-Oyebode (Nigeria)
Debbie Ariyo (Nigeria)
Elizabeth Nyamayaro (Zimbabwe)
Kaleba Ngoie Kasongo (DR Congo)
Leyla Hussein and Nimco Ali (Somalia)
Obiageli Ezekwesili (Nigeria)
Toyin Saraki (Nigeria)
Zainab Hawa Bangura (Sierra Leone)


Dounia Ben Mohamed (Tunisia)
Eloïne Barry (Guinea)
Lerato Mbele (South Africa)
Mo Abudu (Nigeria)
Mona Eltahawy (Egypt)
Yvonne Ndege (Kenya) SPORT
Almaz Ayana (Ethiopia)
Blessing Okagbare (Nigeria)
Cathy Phiri (Zambia)
Genzebe Dibaba Keneni (Ethiopia)
Habiba Ghribi (Tunisia)
Neku Atawodi (Nigeria)

Those expected to speak include women who have achieved big in the world including Dr Joyce Banda, Former President of Republic of Malawi, HE Monica Geingos; First Lady of Namibia, Hon. Hanna Tetteh; Minister of Foreign Affairs & Regional Integration, Ghana, Jeanine Mabunda Special Representative of the President of DRC Congo on Sexual Violence and Child Recruitment, and other influential women who have made striking impact across the continent.