Kisii University Closed, Students To be Transferred

Ten campuses in Kisii University have been closed indefinitely to enable the institution get back on track as it breached the guidelines of Commission for University Education (CUE). 

This is coming after some civil societies asked the Ministry of Education to close down some primary schools for employing unqualified teachers, and making money at the expense of quality education.

The Education Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i, on Wednesday January 27, 2016, expressed shock while announcing the one year closure of the institution.

Matiang’i stated during a meeting which discussed the development of a roadmap for reopening of the institutions,

The university campuses had employed primary school teachers with questionable academic qualifications teaching undergraduate and postgraduate courses.

In addition, there were no adequate or qualified faculty in those respective campuses to teach and or run academic programmes.

Cue accuses the University of recruiting unqualified teachers. Again for opening 13 campuses in just three years of its founding, a widespread news which has raised the concerns of the commission and called for an inspection.

The Commission says the institution violates the overall rules of CUE for these actions.

Matiang’i also pointed out that all the displaced students in the 13 campuses will be transferred to other institutions.

He reveals the campuses will be reopened within one year if inspection comes out affirmative. And this will be the case when the university complies with the commission’s terms and conditions.

Read Also: Daring Nursery Students Pursue Education Against All Odds

The conditions include

  • Developing an effective plan that will cover quality faculty, facilities, and library resources in the respective campuses.
  • Employing new lecturers in a professional way to match the standard of education required.
  • Creating of an effective advisory team of independent academic professionals that will work with Cue to ensure things are being done in line with guidelines specified by the commission.

The affected campuses include Eldoret, Eldama Ravine, Nyamira, Kabarnet, Migori, Ogembo, Keroka, Kehancha, Kapenguria and Isebania.

Former Permanent Secretary Crispus Kiamba has been tasked with the task of overseeing this change.