NASA Unveils Committee Mandated To Push For Fresh Elections

The National Super Alliance has unveiled a seven-member committee mandated to coordinate their push for fresh elections.

The team, led by former Kakamega Senator Boni Khalwale and Johnston Muthama will comprise of fiery economist and lead NASA political analyst Dr. David Ndii. Others are Judith Sijeny, Hamida Kibwana, Mutakha Kangu, Oduor Ong’wen, Koitamet Olekina and Peter Mathuki.

Read Also: I Will Be Sworn In As President On December 12 – Raila Odinga

In the press briefing on Friday, Senator Khalwale said the team will make sure Kenya embarks on the final pillar of restoring democracy, just government, and legitimate leadership.

“They will deliberate on and produce the roadmap towards the achievement of objectives through the [People’s] Assembly which will lead us to a free and fair election or the path of self-determination,” Khalwale said at Okoa Kenya offices in Nairobi.

The People’s Assembly is part of NASA’s plan to bar President Uhuru Kenyatta from ruling after he won the repeat presidential election.

Khalwale said the work of the Committee will be to guide, facilitate and coordinate the programme of the various assemblies across the country.

“It will further set up and oversight a national secretariat that will be the center for the activities of these assemblies among other duties,” he said.

Read Also: Police Seal Off Kamukunji And Jamhuri Grounds To Stop NASA Rally

The NASA leaders went on to condemn the police for their actions when Raila Odinga returned from the US and during NASA’s planned memorial on Tuesday which was also President Kenyatta’s inauguration day.

“This unashamed abuse was plain for the entire world to see when we sought to hold a peaceful memorial service for 26 supporters who were killed by trigger-happy security forces,” said Khalwale

“Their only crime was to welcome our leader, Rt. Honorable, Raila Odinga upon his return from overseas engagement,” he added.