People’s Assembly Motion: Nairobi NASA MCAs Protest Speakers Refusal To Allow Debate

Nairobi NASA MCAs today walked out of parliament in protest of Speaker Beatrice Elachi’s refusal to allow them to debate the People’s Assembly motion.

The People’s Assembly motion, which was not listed in the order paper, was introduced by Minority Chief Whip Peter Imwatok who wanted to use Standing order 51 that allows a member to issue notice and move a motion.

The Speaker, however, declined this move, saying the house had already gone past the “notice of motion” in the sequence of the order paper.

Read Also: Government Reacts To NASA People’s President Swearing-in Plan

In response, Opposition ward representatives walked out of the chamber as they chanted “reject, resist”.

They accused Elachi of bias and favoritism with minority leader Elias Otieno specifically accusing Elachi of sabotaging the motion.

Otieno told journalists the Speaker did not follow the sequence of the order paper but instead went straight to the last item so as to block the motion from being debated.

“This is a dictator speaker. We will bring this motion again next year in January,” he said.

Otieno said most of the Jubilee members were absent on Thursday which would have allowed the motion to pass.

This prompted the Speaker to take action and block the debate.

Read Also: Work Within Kenya’s Laws – U.S. To Raila Odinga

On Wednesday, the House business committee declined to allocate the motion time, citing a court order that barred assemblies from debating it.

Majority leader Abdi Guyo said: “We cannot allow the motion to be debated in our Assembly because it is illegal.”

He said they would not entertain the motion which the court barred. He said he would write to CoB not to approve funds for counties that have passed the motion.

About 12 Counties have approved the motion for the Assembly through which Raila will be sworn-in. They include Mombasa, Kwale, Kilifi, Busia, Homa Bay, Kakamega, Kisumu, Makueni, Migori, Siaya and Vihiga.