PFA Player Of The Year Award: Kante, Hazard, And Ibrahimovic On Shortlist

Chelsea’s N’Golo Kante and Eden Hazard have been rewarded for their performance this season with nominations for this year’s PFA Player of the Year award.

The Chelsea duo are part of a six-man shortlist announced on Thursday which includes Manchester United’s Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Arsenal’s Alexis Sanchez, Everton’s Romelu Lukaku and Tottenham’s Harry Kane.

Read Also: Russell Westbrook: Meet The Player Who Broke The 55-Year-Old Triple-Double Record

According to the bookmakers, Kante, who was shortlisted last year as part of Leicester City’s Premier League winning team, is the favourite for this year’s accolade.

Hazard, who picked up this award two years ago when the Blues last won the league could be in line for his second as he pushes his side to another English crown.

PFA Player Of The Year Award

Everton forward Lukaku, the Premier League’s leading scorer with 23 goals so far this season could be a surprise winner of the award. Fellow Golden Boot contender Zlatan Ibrahimovic who has scored 17 goals in his first season in English football has been recognized for his efforts at Old Trafford.

PFA Player Of The Year Award

PFA Player Of The Year Award

Arsenal’s Sanchez who has been a highlight with his 18 goals in an otherwise disappointing season for Arsenal.

Read Also: Post-Match Interview: Footballer Mistakenly Thanks His Wife And Girlfriend

The only English nominee on the shortlist is Tottenham’s Kane, who has netted 19 goals despite two stints on the sidelines with injury. He was placed third in the voting last year and would be looking to win the PFA Player of the Year award as his team challenges Chelsea for top spot.

PFA Player Of The Year Award

Kane along with Lukaku have also been shortlisted for the PFA Young Player of the Year award. They are joined by Tottenham’s Dele Alli, Burnley defender Michael Keane, Sunderland goalkeeper Jordan Pickford and Manchester City winger Leroy Sane.

Alli, who turned 21 on Tuesday, won this award last year. His 16 goals this season makes him a strong favorite to win it again having become one of the first names in Mauricio Pochettino’s side.