Repeat Presidential Elections Budget

IEBC selection panel has nominated Tukero Ole Kina and Wafula Chebukati for chairman and nine others as commissioners…

In view of the forthcoming elections as the outgoing commissioners of the Independent Electoral and Boundary Commission (IEBC) have left office, IEBC selection panel has nominated a new board awaiting confirmation by President Uhuru Kenyatta.

The IEBC made the final nomination on Wednesday after all the screening of the candidates have been concluded. Final nominations were made Out of the 15 persons that applied for chairperson and 748 persons that applied for commissioners.

See Also: Five Candidates Shortlisted For IEBC Chairperson

The IEBC selection panel nominated High Court advocate Tukero Ole Kina, Wafula Chebukati for chairman and nine others as commissioners.

The commissioner nominees include Evans Monari, Mary Kigen, retired Justice Tom Mbaluto and Olga Karani.

The rest are Retired Canon Peter Mwangi, Professor Abudulhjafur El-Busaidy, Bishop and Dr. David Oginde and Dr. Mohan Lumba.

Selection panel chairperson Bernadette Musundi said the process was guided by a commitment to ensuring free, fair and transparent selection.

The nominees now await vetting by Parliament before their names are presented to President Uhuru Kenyatta.

See Also: IPSOS Declares Uhuru Most Popular Presidential Candidate

Musundi said they were screened based on academic and professional qualifications, leadership and integrity, technical proficiency, ICT and presentation skills,  general knowledge and competency skills.

She said the most suitable people were picked from a list of 15 who applied for chairperson and 748 who applied for the positions of commissioners.

She went further to say that the panel took into account the report of various agencies, memoranda received on some of the applicants and their responses to the two.

Tukero Ole Kina and Wafula Chebukati have demonstrated that they have the capability to run the affairs of the IEBC and ensure credible General elections come August 8, 2017.

See Also: Uhuru Says There Are Idiots In Parliament After Lawmakers Brawled

Musundi praised the panel for dedication and a speedy yet professional process. Other members are Evans Monari, Mary Karen, Tom Mbaluto, Olga Chepkemoi, Peter Karanja, Abdulghafur el-Busaidy, David Oginde and Mohan Lumba.

The chairperson also thanked the Parliamentary Service Commission for providing facilities and ensuring a conducive working environment.

The President now has seven days to submit to the National Assembly for approval the nomination of one person for appointment as the chairperson and six persons for appointment as commissioner.

He shall thereafter, within seven days of receipt of the names approved by the National Assembly, by notice in the Gazette, appoint the Chairperson and the members of the Commission.

The Selection Panel shall stand dissolved once the appointments are made.